A new California law will require all the state’s car dealerships to display a red window sticker on any vehicle carrying a salvage title, Automotive News reports. Salvage titles are given to total-loss cars junked as a result of a collision, returned under lemon laws or hit by disasters like flood and fire.
The bill also includes a provision requiring electronic registration by the dealer at the time of purchase for all cars sold or leased. Vehicle documentation fees will increase from $55 for purchases and $45 for leases to $80 for both types of transaction.
You, the California car buyer, will see a couple of key benefits from the new law. Dealers are required by current law to inform potential buyers of cars with salvage titles, but many don’t. Now there will be no confusion thanks to the new red stickers.
Also, electronic registration at the time of purchase means you’ll get your new plates in weeks instead of months. The small fee increase passed on to consumers still leaves California’s documentation fees among the lowest in the nation.